New Music Alert: Jukebox The Ghost

by - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Sometimes, it pays to have contacts. This morning I woke up to an email from my friend Merlin, currently on an Internship with the ever high-quality Partisan PR, telling me all about Jukebox The Ghost. 

Whilst I had never heard of the Brooklyn trio before, a quick listen to their latest single Somebody confirmed that they are the perfect soundtrack for the british summer that we currently seem to be missing out on. Their upcoming third album Safe Travels (out August 13th)  is set to be a pomp-pop cracker that will put the likes of Fun to shame. Or, in the words of The Washington Post, 'rambunctious pop music with the compact melodicism of the Beatles, the ambitious prog sprawl of Yes, and the persistent dance motion of New Order.'

Made up of  pianist Ben Thornewill, guitarist Tommy Siegel and drummer Jesse Kristin, Jukebox The Ghost have seen their fanbase grow since the release of their 2010 record Everything Under the Sun, a relentless touring schedule seeing them playing 150 shows a year. During their rapid rise the band's music was featured in an iPad ad, they played on the Letterman show and at Lollapalooza, and much more. 

So far so American Dream, but they are not a band without substance. Recorded in Brooklyn with Dan Romer (Ingrid Michaelson, Jenny Owens Young), Safe Travels marks a period in the band’s career where 'relationships dissolved and crumbled, Loved ones passed on.', and is a record representative of 'a shift in the band’s creative trajectory'. 

Sounds intriguing right? Well, what are you waiting for? Safety In Sound has got a download below of one of the album's  best tracks, Oh Emily right here. We hope you like!

Jukebox The Ghost's 'Safe Travels' is out on August 13th via Yep Roc. For more information, visit or

You May Also Like


  1. Safe Travels is their third album. With Everything Under the Sun being second and Let Live and Let Ghosts their first. All are worth listening to.